Proving fault in a vehicle collision sometimes becomes the task of Car Accident Lawyers. In most states, the determination of fault impacts whose automotive insurance is responsible for property damage claims, medical expenses, and lost wages. A small number of states have no-fault insurance laws so each person’s insurance covers their expenses no matter who was at fault. Nevada is not one of them.
Confusion About Responsibility
Sometimes, it’s not entirely clear who was responsible for the accident. In other cases, law enforcement officials assign fault to one driver but the insurance company decides the other is at least partly to blame. These situations can result in insurers refusing to pay claims or offering lower amounts than necessary to pay all the expenses. An attorney with an organization such as Aquino Law Group knows how to effectively negotiate with automotive insurers.
For example, a common cause of collisions involves drivers making left turns in front of other vehicles. Usually, the turning driver is considered at fault, but the insurer may dispute full liability for various reasons. For instance, if the other driver was speeding to get through a yellow light about to turn red, the person might be considered partially negligent.
A driver who rear-ends another vehicle is usually found to be responsible. However, the car in front might have malfunctioning brake lights, making it difficult for anyone to know the driver has braked suddenly on the road.
Also, the at-fault driver’s insurance policy has a maximum liability amount. The insurer is not obligated to pay any more than the maximum, which can be relatively low when compared to accident expenses. Nevada’s requirements for liability insurance are very low. A driver only has to have $15,000 of insurance to cover physical harm for one person and only a maximum of $30,000 for total bodily injury expenses. The property damage minimum requirement is $10,000.
Obviously, a serious vehicle collision can result in much greater expenses than this. Car Accident Lawyers can file a lawsuit against the at-fault driver if this person has assets that could be liquidated to pay for additional expenses. You can pay a visit to Facebook page for more information.