Even a first offense for driving while intoxicated is a serious charge in Texas. A conviction can cost you money, your reputation, even your freedom. Contact the San Antonio DWI attorney who knows how to attack DWI charges.
This is Just My First DWI
Many people who receive a DWI think that nothing will happen since it was their first offense. While it is true that the first two DWI convictions are misdemeanors, the penalties can be harsh. You can lose your driver’s license for up to a year. Additional penalties can include up to a $2,000 fine and up to 180 days in jail.
Receiving probation is better than jail, but there are still strict requirements.
Texas sets requirements for anyone sentenced to probation for DWI can include:
- Drug/alcohol dependence evaluation
- Three 4-hour DWI education classes
- Fines and court costs
- And many more a judge may choose to set
Probation can last from six months to 2 years. The best outcome is to have the case dismissed.
Defending Against a DWI Charge
Defenses against a DWI charge include:
- There was no probable cause to pull you over
- You were not legally drunk
- Issues with the blood tests
- And others
If you have received a DWI charge, the best thing to do is speak with a San Antonio DWI attorney. Find your DWI attorney at Law Office of Jesse Hernandez. Visit them online today to schedule an evaluation.