Trying to understand lemon laws can be confusing. Every state has its own laws, and there is no universal law across the board. Alabama lemon law applies to cars or trucks that are used on the highway. Motor homes and vehicles that weigh more than 10,000 pounds do not fall under these laws.
Qualifying as a Lemon
There are certain qualifications that must be met to conclude that a car is a lemon in Alabama. First, it must be 2-years old or less, or it must have less than 24,000 miles. There must also have been at least three attempts to repair the issue. This must be done by the manufacturer, an authorized dealer, or a manufacturer’s agent. The car also must have been out of service and under repair for at least 30 days.
Who is at Fault for a Lemon?
According to Alabama lemon law, the dealer the car was purchased from is not at fault. It is the sole responsibility of the manufacturer. So, bringing legal action to a dealer is not going to work in this case.
What Happens to the Car?
If the car ultimately qualifies as a lemon and all of the criteria is met, the manufacturer of the car must make things right. The first thing they will offer is to replace the vehicle with a comparable brand-new car. The other thing they will offer is a full refund, which includes the full price paid for the car, the sales tax, registration fees, title fees, and any finance charges. It is your choice.
If you believe that your car is a lemon, the first thing you should do is seek out a qualified attorney. They can take a look at your case and make a determination if your car, indeed, is a lemon.
Do you need help with Alabama lemon law? If so, contact Krohn & Moss, Ltd. Consumer Law Center.