If your new car is spending more time with a mechanic than it does with you, chances are your new car is a lemon. Years ago, there was no recourse, today, anyone that believes his or her new car is a lemon has options under the California Lemon Law.
Although Lemon Law vary slightly between states, in general, the law applies when a new vehicle is found to have serious defects within a specified amount of time or mileage. If the vehicle manufacturer cannot rectify the problem within a certain number of tries, chances are you will be entitled to a refund of your purchase price or a new vehicle of comparable value.
The California Lemon Law :
If, within 18 months from the date of delivery or 18,000 miles on the odometer the vehicle will be considered a lemon if:
- Two tries were made to rectify a defect that, if left unattended, could result in serious injury or death to the vehicle occupants
- Four attempts were made to rectify the same fault
- The car has been out of service for a total of 30 days minimum, and
- The reported problems were not the result of owner abuse
If your new car qualifies as a lemon, the manufacturer is obliged to replace it or refund your money. In the event the manufacturer refuses to either of these, you can request arbitration.
Always keep records:
When you take possession of a new car, you do not know if it is a lemon or not. Do not count on the dealer to keep records of all the repairs that were made to your car, keep your own records. When the car is returned, scrutinize the accompanying paperwork to ensure it accurately portrays the problem and the attempt that was made to repair the fault.
If you do not get satisfaction from the manufacturer, you can go through arbitration or hire a knowledgeable Lemon Law attorney to handle the case.
If you believe your new car qualifies under the California Lemon Law, you are eligible for a replacement or a refund of the purchase price. For more information on how to find a Lemon Law lawyer in California, you are invited to visit us